Is Elon Musk really THAT smart?

Maria Konner
2 min readOct 7, 2016

Yea, he’s a smart and successful guy, but it’s not like he derived the equations of space time or anything! He’s just a common sense guy who made it to the top in a world where idiot savaats driven by the pursuit of the dollar happiness and drama float to the top of the toilet bowl. If idiocy didn’t dominate the media, entertainment, and education, most of what he says would be pretty intuitively obvious to many — and probably is, but most of us get our emergent insights beatened out of us at a young age.

Here are some recent genius quotes from Elon, which are genius…the genius being that they’re so obvious, why hasn’t anybody else come up with these quotes.

You want to be extra rigorous about making the best possible thing you can. Find everything that’s wrong with it and fix it. Seek negative feedback, particularly from friends.

I always have optimism, but I’m realistic. It was not with the expectation of great success that I started Tesla or SpaceX. It’s just that I thought they were important enough to do anyway.

There’s a fundamental difference, if you look into the future, between a humanity that is a space-faring civilization, that’s out there exploring the stars… compared with one where we are forever confined to Earth until some eventual extinction event.

I always invest my own money in the companies that I create. I don’t believe in the whole thing of just using other people’s money. I don’t think that’s right. I’m not going to ask other people to invest in something if I’m not prepared to do so myself.

Great advice, and why can’t they teach this stuff in school? Seems pretty obvious to anybody with experience. There are probably many people who came up with the same or similar genius quotes over the years, except nobody cared and wouldn’t listen to them or repost them (Just like I bet there were many who figured out that the Earth went around the Sun way before Copernicus). Perhaps Elon’s genious is being a kid who managed to ignore the idiocy pouring down from TV and his teachers, so he could make enough money so people would listen to him. When I younger, the only one making sense was Mr. Spock. And didn’t he have some priceless quotes compared to the irrational humans…granted they were designed to appeal to the drama of the 60.s’. And….today we have Elon.

Of course, the real geniuses may bethe hidden movers and shakers who direct our idiot leaders scraping off $1 for every idiot who listens. So maybe Elon’s genius includes maintaining his humanity too.

--

--